Winning draw numbers are available from:
The Lottery has 400 licensed retailers across the state - Look for the Lottery logo sign in the store window. If a retailer is open for business and at the retailer's discretion, a ticket can be purchased seven days a week from 5:30 a.m. to 2:30 a.m. CST. Locations (PDF)
The prize claim period is 180 days from the draw date.
All unclaimed prizes are retained by the Lottery and ultimately transferred to the state general fund.
Players must be at least 18 years of age to purchase and/or redeem lottery tickets.
Any employee, regardless of age, may sell a lottery ticket.
No. The numbers on the tickets are always printed in ascending order because it is the easiest way for players to compare their tickets to the winning numbers. If the ticket has a winning combination of the numbers that were drawn, it's a winner!
This is at the discretion of each retailer. Depending on store policy, the retailer may allow a check or debit card for the purchase of tickets, limit the number of tickets purchased, or decline to accept a check or debit card. A credit card cannot be used to buy lottery tickets.
The Lottery is not responsible for lost or stolen tickets. Unless a ticket is signed, anyone who redeems it can claim the prize. A player should sign the back of the ticket immediately upon purchase.
Federal law requires that the Lottery report winnings of $600 or more to the IRS. Federal income tax of 25% and state income tax of 3.22% are withheld from any prize over $5,000. Other IRS withholding provisions may apply.
The breakdown of each $1 Lottery ticket is:
A prize of $599 or less may be claimed at a lottery retailer.
A prize of $600 or more must be paid by the Lottery. A player may present the player's prize winning ticket in person at the Lottery's office located at 1050 E Interstate Ave, suite 200, Bismarck, ND between the hours of 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon and 1:00 – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding holidays). Please arrive at the Lottery no later than 4:30 p.m. to allow adequate time to process your check.
A player may also download and print a Prize Claim Form (PDF) or pick up a form from a lottery retailer, complete and sign the form, and send it along with the signed winning ticket to:
North Dakota Lottery
PO Box 204
Bismarck, ND 58502-0204
Please send a copy of your ID along with the Prize Claim Form and winning ticket.
The risk of mailing a ticket remains with the player. Registered mail is recommended.
Along with presenting the signed winning ticket, all members of a group claiming a shared prize must:
What should a player do if the player has a compulsive behavior to gamble? Call the HELPLINE in North Dakota at 2-1-1.